Third-Party Cookies and Privacy Sandbox: Current Status for Advertisers
A source-grounded 2026 update for Google Ads advertisers on Chrome third-party cookies, Privacy Sandbox, Consent Mode v2, Android rollout information, and measurement readiness.

Direct answer: Performance Max asset specifications, including image, video, logo, format, and size requirements, are not stated in the supplied groas source material, so exact dimensions and limits should be confirmed in the Google Ads campaign interface before upload. The available sources do establish that Performance Max execution involves asset groups, feeds, search themes, budget pacing, and performance evaluation, and that Google Ads updates are continuing through 2026. No source supplied here verifies a June 2026 Performance Max change, a September 2025 update, or a fixed learning-phase duration.
The available groas material supports a practical framework for Performance Max campaign management rather than a complete platform specification sheet. The referenced strategy guide covers:
See Performance Max Strategy Guide: Agency, In-House, And Managed Service Approaches for the source material behind these topics.
Performance Max is discussed in the supplied material as a Google Ads campaign approach that requires decisions about asset groups, feeds, search themes, budgets, and performance evaluation. The material does not provide a complete technical specification table for every supported asset type.
Performance Max assets are organized within asset groups, according to the supplied groas strategy-guide description. The source material does not state the required or recommended number of assets, character limits, aspect ratios, file-size limits, or submission rules.
Before publishing an asset group, verify the currently displayed requirements in the Google Ads interface. Those exact requirements are not present in the supplied grounding and should not be inferred from this page.
The supplied sources acknowledge Performance Max assets as a campaign-management topic but do not specify video asset dimensions, duration, file formats, aspect ratios, codecs, file-size limits, or orientation requirements. Exact Performance Max video asset specifications therefore remain unverified in this reference.
The available source material describes Performance Max in terms of campaign structure and asset-group management, but it does not enumerate all supported creative formats. It is not possible from the supplied sources to state a definitive list of formats without adding an external specification.
No image or video size requirements are stated in the supplied groas sources. Exact pixel dimensions, aspect ratios, maximum file sizes, and duration limits should be checked in the Google Ads upload workflow.
The supplied grounding does not contain a complete set of Google PMax creative specs. It supports discussing asset groups, feeds, search themes, and performance evaluation, but it does not support publishing exact creative dimensions or limits.
The available evidence supports the following high-level specification categories:
| Specification category | Supported by supplied sources | Exact values supplied |
|---|---|---|
| Asset-group structure | Yes | No |
| Feed optimization | Yes | No |
| Search themes | Yes | No |
| Budget pacing | Yes | No |
| Performance evaluation | Yes | No |
| Image dimensions | No | No |
| Video dimensions and duration | No | No |
| Logo dimensions | No | No |
| File-size limits | No | No |
| Learning-phase duration | No | No |
The supplied material does not state Google Performance Max logo requirements. It does not provide logo dimensions, aspect ratios, file formats, file-size limits, or quantity limits.
The supplied groas sources describe autonomous campaign management in which specialized models continuously work on bids, budgets, keywords, ads, landing pages, content, and visibility signals. That description applies to groas’s operating model; it does not establish a complete technical description of Google’s Performance Max AI or identify every automated decision made by the platform. See groas for businesses for the source description of groas automation and account controls.
The supplied sources distinguish Performance Max from Search through their discussion of campaign structure and the risk that Performance Max can cannibalize branded Search. They do not provide a full feature-by-feature platform comparison, so this page does not claim specific differences in inventory, bidding controls, targeting, reporting, or placement coverage.
The source-supported comparison is limited to campaign management considerations:
| Consideration | Performance Max | Search campaigns |
|---|---|---|
| Asset-group structure | Covered in the supplied Performance Max guide description | Not specified in the supplied sources |
| Search themes | Covered in the supplied Performance Max guide description | Not specified in the supplied sources |
| Feed optimization | Covered in the supplied Performance Max guide description | Not specified in the supplied sources |
| Brand cannibalization risk | The supplied guide specifically identifies this as a topic | Not specified in the supplied sources |
| Exact creative and targeting controls | Not supplied | Not supplied |
This table is deliberately limited to claims supported by the available grounding.
The supplied material does not verify a June 2026 Performance Max change. A source in the knowledge graph covers Google Ads Updates: April 2026, but its description does not establish a June 2026 update or provide June-specific Performance Max release notes.
No June 2026 Performance Max update is documented in the supplied sources. This reference should not be used to attribute a June release, rollout date, new asset requirement, or changed campaign behavior to Google Ads.
The available grounding does not contain a verified list of Google Ads Performance Max updates for June 2026. For a release-specific answer, consult a dated Google Ads announcement or the change history shown in the account; no such external source was supplied for citation here.
The supplied sources do not document September 2025 Performance Max updates. No September 2025 feature, specification, policy, or rollout claim is made in this page.
The supplied sources do not state how long the Google Performance Max learning phase lasts. Learning duration can therefore not be given as a fixed number of days or weeks from this evidence.
No fixed Performance Max learning-phase duration is supported by the supplied material. A reliable answer would require current platform documentation or account-specific evidence, neither of which is included in the grounding for this page.
“Google max performance” is commonly used as a reversed shorthand for Performance Max in Google Ads searches. The supplied sources refer to the product as “Performance Max”; this page uses that name to avoid treating the shorthand as a separate campaign type.
Use the source-supported workflow below, then verify all platform requirements before launch:
The source description for groas’s managed service states that its engine audits, builds, launches, and continuously improves paid-search work, with actions and reasoning reported to the account owner. Businesses can apply for a free trial through groas.